As you perform your Teams migrations, users will likely keep using their old teams until the new environment is ready.
With incremental copy, you can copy over what has changed since your initial Teams migration so your users do not have to lose the work they have done during the migration.
Note: You can only use incremental copy for teams that were migrated with ShareGate Desktop 15.0 and higher. This is because the app needs to have the information from your migration in order to copy only the new elements of your teams in the destination.
- In the migration task summary of your initial team migration, click on .
- When you launch the initial migration of your teams, you will be taken to the task summary screen automatically.
- To access the task summary screen later, select Tasks in the menu at the left, then look for your Teams migration task and click on it to open the summary task screen.
- Select the teams and/or channels you wish to run your incremental copy on. You can click on the arrow at the left of your team's icon to reveal its channels underneath.
- Click on to run your incremental migration at a later time.
- Click on to run your incremental migration right away.
What is copied or updated in incremental copy
- The settings and configuration of your teams are updated.
- The settings and configuration of your channels are updated.
- New apps.
- New tabs.
- New messages and replies in chat.
- Team membership, including private channels.
- The Microsoft 365 group associated to your team is updated.
- The Planner plans within your team.
- The Site collection associated to the team and site collections associated to your private channels. Your team's connected site collections, that contain your libraries and files are updated with the Copy if newer (incremental) method.
- The new channels created since the initial migration will not get migrated. They will have to be migrated separately.
- Incremental copy is not supported if the source team no longer exists (the information from the initial migration is still displayed as a reference).
- Incremental copy is not supported if the destination team no longer exists when the source team was originally migrated into an existing team. (the information from the initial migration is still displayed as a reference).
- If the original copy created a new team or channel in the destination, and that element is deleted, incremental copy will recreate it.
- If you rename your team or channel with the app during your initial migration, that new name is reused during the incremental copy and cannot be changed.
- The Membership setting you selected for your private channels during the initial migration is the one used for your incremental migration and cannot be changed.
- The default wiki tab is considered as a single document. It will be copied in its entirety if the date of the most recent change is newer in your source.
- Incremental copy for Teams migrations is not possible with PowerShell.