Microsoft Planner gives people a visual way to organize teamwork, delegate tasks, manage deadlines and follow up on projects.
ShareGate Desktop supports plans as part of your Teams migrations, just like you can copy chat conversation history, private and standard channels, files, tabs and more.
How it works
Your plan migration will work differently whether you migrate a team as a new team in the destination or if you migrate a team or channel into an existing team.
When you migrate as a new team, all your plans associated to that team are migrated along.
When you migrate into an existing team, only the plans referenced in a tab in a team channel are migrated.
Note: You can only migrate plans through a Teams migration.
- The plan, buckets, tasks, and the order of the buckets and tasks are copied.
- Each plan comment is an email sent to the team's Outlook. To optimize the migration time and reduce the amount of email notifications, comments are aggregated in a single comment up to a certain size limit.
- Members of a team or group are automatically members of the plans associated to their team or group. They can access the content of the plans even if their image does not appear in the Planner app.
- You can change the members of your plans and the people assigned to some tasks with user mappings.
- The background is not preserved.
- The notification settings are not preserved.
- Users' plans marked as favorite are not kept.
- Task and comment authors and timestamps are only preserved in comments.
- Created by and Completed by will be replaced by the user account you use for your migration.
- Created date time and Completed date time will be replaced will be replaced by the date and time of the migration.
- For tasks the authors and timestamps information will be added as a comment in the task, for comments, the information is added directly in the comment.
- Planner restrictions apply, for example:
- There is a maximum of 200 plans per team.
- There is a limit of approximately 2,400 tasks per plan.