A ShareGate Desktop license seat can be moved from computer to computer, or from user to user.
- Deactivate the license on the computer where the software is currently activated.
- Install ShareGate Desktop on the new workstation or for the new user profile.
- Activate the license on the new workstation or user profile. You can re-use your license key even if it is for a new user.
If ShareGate Desktop cannot contact the license server, you might have to use the offline deactivation process.
Visit the Licensing page if you want more information on the basics of licensing and seats.
Note: Your tasks (including migration reports) are not transferred along with the license. If you wish to keep the tasks from the previous workstation, you can make a copy of the folder C:\Users\user.name\AppData\Local\Sharegate, and place it in the same location in your new workstation. If you already have a Sharegate folder on the new workstation, replacing it will make you lose all your tasks and connections on that workstation.