ShareGate Desktop provides a few solutions to delete content you no longer need in SharePoint.
You can delete objects directly in Explorer, in the results of a report, and in most migration screens.
Note: The content you delete in ShareGate Desktop will be sent to the SharePoint recycle bin associated with the user account you used to connect to your environment.
- Deleting from the ShareGate Desktop Explorer.
- Deleting in bulk with a custom report
- Deleting from a Copy screen
- Restoring from your SharePoint recycle bin
Deleting from the ShareGate Desktop Explorer
You can select any object in the ShareGate Desktop Explorer and click Delete permanently in the actions panel at the right to delete them. You can also right-click any object and select Delete permanently in the menu.
Note: You cannot undo the deletion of a Microsoft 365 Group. Teams, site collections, apps, and any data attached to the group will get permanently deleted with your group.
Deleting in bulk with a custom report
Using a custom report allows you to target your content more precisely.
For example, you could bring up all the documents that were modified over 3 years ago and delete them all at once.
Follow the steps to create a custom report in this article, then you can review and select all the data you want to remove in the results screen, and click Delete permanently in the actions panel.
Deleting from a Copy screen
To delete one or more items in one of these screens, you can select your items, right-click any of them, and select Delete permanently in the menu.
Tip: If you want to delete very specific content, you can create a SharePoint view in your list or library, and use that view in the Bulk edit content screen to mass delete your items. Use the view selector at the top-left of your content to load the items from one of your SharePoint views.
Restoring from your SharePoint recycle bin
In most cases, you can recover items you deleted with the app from your SharePoint recycle bin.
When you delete from ShareGate Desktop, the items that will be sent to the Recycle Bin are the following:
- List items (Only in SharePoint 2007 and later)
- Files (Only in SharePoint 2007 and later)
- Folders (Only in SharePoint 2007 and later)
- Lists and Libraries (Only in SharePoint 2007 and later)
- Document Sets (only in SharePoint 2010 and later)
- Workflows (only in SharePoint 2010 and later)
- Subsites (only in SharePoint 2010 and later)
- Site Collections (only in SharePoint 2010 with SP1 and later)
Site collections in SharePoint Online can be restored through the recycle bin in the central administration.
To restore deleted site collections in On-Premises SharePoint environments, you must be connected on the Web Front-End server and use the SharePoint PowerShell command "Restore-SPDeletedSite".
- You cannot run a report on the content of your Recycle bin in ShareGate Desktop.
- You cannot restore content in SharePoint 2003.