ShareGate provides solutions to delete content you no longer need in SharePoint.
You can delete objects directly in the Explorer, in the results of a report, and in most migration screens.
Note: The content you delete with the app will be sent to the SharePoint recycle bin associated with the user account you used to connect to your environment.
- Delete from the Explorer
- Delete in bulk with a custom report
- Delete from a Copy screen
- Restore from your SharePoint recycle bin
Delete from the Explorer
You can select any object in the Explorer and click Delete permanently in the quick actions at the right to delete them.
You can also right-click any object and select Delete permanently from the menu.
Note: You cannot undo the deletion of a Microsoft 365 group. Teams, site collections, apps, and any data attached to the group will be permanently deleted with your group.
Delete in bulk with a custom report
Using a custom report allows you to target your content more precisely.
For example, you can bring up all the documents that were modified over 3 years ago and delete them all at once.
Follow the steps to create a custom report in this article. From the Results screen, review and select the data you want to remove, then click Delete permanently in the quick actions.
Delete from a Copy screen
To delete one or more items in these screens, select your item(s), right-click any of them, and select Delete permanently from the menu.
Tip: If you want to delete very specific content, you can create a SharePoint view in your list or library, and use that view in the Bulk edit content screen to mass delete your items. Use the view selector at the top-left of your content to load the items from one of your SharePoint views.
Restore from your SharePoint recycle bin
In most cases, you can recover items you deleted with the app from your SharePoint recycle bin. The items that will be sent to the Recycle Bin are the following:
- List items (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Files (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Folders (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Lists and libraries (only in SharePoint 2007 and later).
- Document sets (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Workflows (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Subsites (only in SharePoint 2010 and later).
- Site collections (only in SharePoint 2010 with SP1 and later).
- Site collections in SharePoint Online can be restored through the recycle bin in the Central administration.
- To restore deleted site collections for on-premises SharePoint environments, you must be connected to the Web Front-End server and use the SharePoint PowerShell command "Restore-SPDeletedSite".
- You cannot run a report on the content of your Recycle bin using the app.
- You cannot restore content from SharePoint 2003.
Note: As of November 2021, ShareGate is no longer able to provide full support for SharePoint Server 2003 and 2007, which are past the end of their Microsoft support lifetime. For more information, see Contacting our technical support team.